So the Sky was Broken

I was sitting with my knees drawn up against my chest, my arms wrapped around my legs and my long black hair draped over my knees. I was alone. No. I wasn’t just alone, but I was the only object present. The ground and the sky were an endless white continuing over the horizon. And the sky seemed broken. I didn’t know why I was here, but I thought that it’d be important to remember. I unlocked my fingers, releasing my arms and legs and allowing myself to lie sprawled out on the floor. I didn’t know what I was doing, but I thought that it didn’t seem to matter. My body formed an X with my arms and legs as I looked up into the sky to get a clear view. It was unmistakably white, but it had dashes and dots and shards of black peeking from behind. So the sky was broken. I didn’t know where I was, but I thought that it wasn’t something for me to know.

Then I began to feel. I felt small little pricks from underneath my legs and between my fingers were soft stems and petals. I became aware of the clothes on my body as I felt my shorts fall upon my thighs and my t-shirt cling to my chest. I felt the warmth upon my face that radiated from the sun and the breeze that swept through my hair. My head wasn’t against the hard ground, but was lain upon soft support.

Then I began to see. A light blue started to creep over the shards of black and spread over the plains of white. What I felt materialized into what I was able to see. I found myself squinting at the emergence of the sun.  Looking to my left and right only resulted in a flood of greens, reds, and yellows. I was no longer laying in an endless and empty world, but instead I was laying on top of a bright spring meadow. The shirt I wore was a blue that matched the sky, my shorts a charcoal black. There was even a Sycamore tree planted right beside me with its branches swaying and leaves shaking.

Then I began to smell. Laying in a bed of flowers could only lead to an overwhelming aroma of the sweet scent of nature. I smelled shampoo from the strands of hair that fell across my face. I smelled home and comfort from the sweater my head rested on. I smelled the waters of a river.

Then I began to hear. I heard the running waters of a river. I heard signs of life, a birds nest nestled  somewhere between one of the branches of the sycamore tree. I heard the rustle of the leaves in the wind and I heard the sound of my breathing. Then I suddenly heard the grass cry out as it became crushed underneath the weight of footsteps.They weren’t loud, nor were they heavy. They were softly making it’s way across the meadow. I didn’t know who it was, and I thought that I honestly didn’t care.

But I had to. They called out my name. The one word that has power over me and only me, the one word that was uttered from the mouths of the people I’ve met, the one word that’s constant among my memories.

Nicole…

And it snapped me awake. And everything disappeared.

Leave a Reply

