[Music Monday] Black and Gold

I heard this song a couple years ago and I completely forgot about it until recently. On Saturday, I went on a leadership retreat to San Francisco and in the car we borrowed, one of the CDs had this song on it. One thing that sticks out from this song is the confusing lyrics. I really never had a full grasp on what he was talking about. But then one of the leaders, let’s call him Unleash the Dragon, mentioned how this was actually talking about creation. boom. Mind Blown. The lyrics I was singing made an incredible amount of sense now.

The reason why we were in San Francisco for the retreat was part of a training. For the first time I tried to evangelize and get out of my comfort zone with people just on the streets. And also for the first time, I saw a naked man walking down the street (luckily I actually only saw his chest). Part of this training was a seminar based on apologetics, or pretty much defending my faith. It was led by Unleash the Dragon and talked about several topics, one part being about creation.

After being told that it was a song relating to the idea of creation, my interpretation really took on a religious view.

If the fish swam out of the ocean
And grew legs and they started walking
And the apes climbed down from the trees
And grew tall and they started talking

This most definitely has to have something to do with evolution. The idea of animals being able to evolve into the human beings that we know today.

‘Cause if you’re not really here
Then the stars don’t even matter
Now I’m filled to the top with fear
That it’s all just a bunch of matter
‘Cause if you’re not really there
Then I don’t wanna be either
I wanna be next to you
Black and gold, black and gold, black and gold

Although I’m still pretty confused of his use of black and gold, I found that this part of the song was talking about his own relationship with God. If God didn’t exist, the stars that he created would have no meaning. The world would have no meaning. Why is it that we go through suffering and trekking along life, working so hard when in the long run, nothing will happen after death if God did not exist. He’s scared of the possibility that everything and the universe is just junk with no meaning. If God isn’t there, he doesn’t want to exist either because there is no point. He wants to be next to God in the long run and build a relationship.

I feel the weight of something beyond them
I don’t see what I can feel
If vision is the only validation
Then most of my life isn’t real

Beyond the stars, he feels that there is a higher being. This feeling of God’s presence is obviously not visible, but if you can only prove things by sight, most of your life wouldn’t be proven real.

Overall, I love this song whether or not it’s about God. It’s a fantastic song and the fact that I finally somewhat understand these lyrics makes it even better.

Leave a Reply

