[Music Monday] Suicides (Losing Someone Part 1.2)

I’ll be starting a new series that’s actually a little depressing. For some reason these past two weeks, I have been a high amount of stories of loss and thought I should share my own insight about it. I have already began it with a Music Monday on my K-pop blog, but I thought corresponding this week’s Music Monday would also be a good idea, so I decided to go with “How to Save a Life” by The Fray.

The song was influenced by lead singer, Isaac Slade, working as a mentor at a camp for troubled teenagers. The lyrics are representing someone trying to reach out to another that is troubled, however it is a lot more difficult than it seems. The chorus shows that sometimes, it’s too late.

Where did I go wrong?
I lost a friend
Somewhere along in the bitterness
And I would have stayed up with you all night
Had I known how to save a life

A thing with suicide is that it may come unforeseen to may people. Reaching out to bring someone out of darkness is not an easy task, and some may have their own problems to deal with. It may not even gain attention until it occurs, and then the world has to cope with another loss. The song corresponds with the K-pop song I chose for Music Monday through both viewpoints feeling useless as they respond to the suicide of someone close. Jae-Rim in the K-pop video watches his friend’s suicide video as he cannot do anything, and the narrator of the “How to Save a Life” expresses his regret of the loss in the chorus. So I guess part of Losing Someone is feelings of uselessness.

Losing Someone (Part I)

One thought on “[Music Monday] Suicides (Losing Someone Part 1.2)

  1. Pingback: [Music Monday] Losing a Person (Part I) | Confessions of a K-pop Fangirl

Leave a Reply

