[Music Monday] Fist Pump for Jesus!

Breadsticks recently showed me a song from an 8tracks playlist called “Fist Pump for Jesus!” Yes, fist pump for Jesus. After I heard it, the upbeat track had been stuck in my head all day long. I can’t stop myself from singing along with the catchy chorus. Many people believe that worship music at church tends to be the “Hallelujah! Praaaiiisseee the Lord!” choir, but I have found varieties from hip hop, rap, rock, and now, electronic pop.

Hillsong Music is Christian music produced by the worship team at the megachurch, Hillsong Church based in Australia. Probably one of the most famous and known active praise team, their songs are constantly used for worship on Sunday mornings. Earlier this year, a youth worship team debuted from Hillsong targeting the younger generation. Hillsong Young and Free released their single “Alive” in July.

Electronic pop is not exactly my style of music, but every once in awhile I find some pop songs that suit my liking. As stated before, I just can’t get this song out of my head! To be honest, there’s not much to say about it. I don’t even know why I like it but I do. All I can say is have a listen, maybe you’ll be surprised.

Although the Music Video is a live version with a bit too many effects and blinding lights, I felt like featuring the video instead of the studio version because I enjoyed seeing how many people were having so much fun. It makes me wish I was there singing along with them and my youth group. There are many people out there who believe that the music of the current generation is garbage and some type of evil nature, religious or not. But if this is a way to reach out to more people, why not? The message is clearly there and it’s enjoyable.

2 thoughts on “[Music Monday] Fist Pump for Jesus!

Leave a Reply

